Home News List of Hong Kong Public Holidays in 2020

List of Hong Kong Public Holidays in 2020

Even if there are still a few days for the current year, many of us are already looking forward to the New Year. And why not? They say, with a new year comes an opportunity to “turn a new leaf.” But for working people like us, the New Year means a new chance to do better at our jobs, as well as to get that vacation leave we’ve always wanted but couldn’t afford to have yet.

In this post, we will give you a guide of all the public holidays observed in Hong Kong this 2020. You can use this to plan for your next vacation or anything you find useful for your free time.

List of Hong Kong Public Holidays in 2019

2020 Public Holidays in Hong Kong

As we all know, Hong Kong is an administrative region of China (not a province), and so most of its public holidays are influenced by those observed in Mainland China. Here is the list of the public holidays in Hong Kong for 2020:

  • January 1 (Wednesday ) – New Year’s Day
  • January 25 (Saturday) – Lunar New Year
  • January 27 (Monday) – Third day of Lunar New Year
  • January 28* (Tuesday) – Fourth Day of Lunar New Year
  • April 4 (Saturday) – Ching Ming Festival
  • April 10 (Friday) – Good Friday
  • April 11 (Saturday) – The day after Good Friday
  • April 13 (Monday) – Easter Monday
  • April 30 (Thursday) – Buddha’s Birthday
  • May 1 (Friday) – Labour Day
  • June 25 (Thursday) – Tuen Ng Festival
  • July 1 (Wednesday) – HKSAR Establishment Day
  • October 1 (Tuesday) – National Day
  • October 2 (Friday) – The day after Mid-Autumn Festival
  • October 26 (Monday) – Chung Yeung Festival
  • December 25 (Friday) – Christmas Day
  • December 26 (Saturday) –The first weekday after Christmas Day

Note: *A Government spokesman said, “As the second day of Lunar New Year in 2020 falls on a Sunday, the fourth day of Lunar New Year is designated as a general holiday in substitution. In addition, since Chung Yeung Festival in 2020 falls on a Sunday, the day following it is designated as a general holiday in substitution.”

As in other parts of the world, the dates of holidays are subject to change as per official announcements by the government. To be sure, you can check with the government’s official website as the date of the holiday approaches.