≡ Menu




List of Hong Kong Public Holidays in 2019

Even if there are still a few days left in 2018, many of us are already looking forward to the New Year. And why not? They say, with a new year comes an opportunity to “turn a new leaf.” But for working people like us, the New Year means a new chance to do better at our jobs, as well as to get that vacation leave we’ve always wanted but couldn’t afford to have yet.

In this post, we will give you a guide of all the public holidays observed in Hong Kong this 2019. You can use this to plan for your next vacation or anything you find useful for your free time.

List of Hong Kong Public Holidays in 2019

2019 Public Holidays in Hong Kong

As we all know, Hong Kong is an administrative region of China (not a province), and so most of its public holidays are influenced by those observed in Mainland China. Here is the list of the public holidays in Hong Kong for 2019:

  • January 1 (Tuesday) – New Year’s Day
  • February 5 (Tuesday) – Lunar New Year
  • February 6 (Wednesday) – Second day of Lunar New Year
  • February 7 (Thursday) – Third day of Lunar New Year
  • April 5 (Friday) – Ching Ming Festival
  • April 19 (Friday) – Good Friday
  • April 20 (Saturday) – The day after Good Friday
  • April 22 (Monday) – Easter Monday
  • May 1 (Wednesday) – Labour Day
  • May 12 (Sunday) – Buddha’s Birthday
  • June 7 (Friday) – Tuen Ng Festival
  • July 1 (Monday) – HKSAR Establishment Day
  • September 14 (Saturday) – The day after Mid-Autumn Festival
  • October 1 (Tuesday) – National Day
  • Octoer 7 (Monday) – Chung Yeung Festival
  • December 25 (Wednesday) – Christmas Day
  • December 26 (Thursday) –The first weekend after Christmas Day

Note: As Buddha’s birthday falls on a Sunday in 2019, the day following it is designated as a general holiday in substitution, according to a government official.

As in other parts of the world, the dates of holidays are subject to change as per official announcements by the government. To be sure, you can check with the government’s official website as the date of the holiday approaches.





{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment